Not another resolution…

Not another resolution…

No more resolutions! Instead reserve that you will live your life the best you can every single day! ~Catkins 2013

I mean why do we make them when 3-6 weeks into the new year we have broken if not obliterated them. Well, you won’t hear a resolution from me. Nope, I am not resolving to do anything. Instead I am going to revise, realize and resonate.

I will revise any plans from the previous year that were not accomplished. If I gave it a reasonable amount of time to accomplish, and it did not happen then I am sure more time will not make it happen. This could be for many reason, but they cannot become excuses, so I must now focus on revising if I want to see my goals become a reality.

In my revision exercise I will pay particular attention to see if in fact that goal is one I still want to realize. Sometimes it can be the things I am doing or not doing that keeps the goal at bay and other times it may become evident that I now have to accept that this goal is no longer applicable to my life. There are times when you just get so caught up in life and what you say you want to do that you don’t evaluate to see if in fact what you said you wanted to do still fits with where your life is going. When my mum got ill earlier this year, I had to put aside my plans to travel, however I was still working on projects meant to be accomplished for the up coming travel schedule. I guess I just thought it still could happen. Well, that’s what a new year is for. It is the perfect time for revisions!

Last but not least, for me this is the perfect time to let what happened this year resonate fully with me. Thinking of what was the great, the good, the bad, and yes the ugly is so cathartic. I let it all resonate with me so I can take the lessons and transitions any pain that still may linger. For me, the new year is  a great time to leave any emotional baggage behind and it has always been my way of building my wisdom and increasing my awareness of my life that continues to be in transition. It could be a great time for you too! Consider resonating instead of a resolution and from that make solid plans and goals.

Years ago I would make resolutions but they rarely worked. They did not work because they were always for something I had been doing for a while that was so habitual to me that trying to go cold turkey was just very impractical. Then I would have that failure feeling when I eventually caved. Does that happen to you? Last year I vowed to do something every day no matter how little to help me feel like I am accomplishing something. It worked really well and inspired me to continue with this plan. Do you think this can work for you? Last new year instead of vowing to loose X amount of pounds, I decided that I would drink less juice and increase my water intake. I also decided to start using my Arbonne products and eat all my meals on saucers with half the food on there being a vegetable or fruit. All of those were easy to do because there wasn’t a set amount I wanted to decrease of anything, I just wanted to start doing it so it would become a lifestyle change. I knew the side effect wold be weight loss. Guess what? It worked! 20lbs down and counting and I never once felt deprived or restricted. I was not a slave to the scale either.

So much is changing for me for the better all because I approach every situation with a mindset of love. I lovingly talk to myself about what I want to change and set a plan in place that is reasonable and not harsh. Yes, I do love the new year! And you can too. Simply make a dedication that the next 365 days will be used to let love design your life to create a more pleasing and enjoyable existence.

Peace & Light

Follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/CarollAtkins #LoveDesignLife

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Control, Enlightenment, Excellence, Happiness, Love, Self-Love, Success and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

