To Thine Own Self, Give Love!

To Thine Own Self, Give Love

All week I have been back strong writing in my blog. The topics have been centered-strongly around what else but LOVE! It is my focus and my goal. As the title of my blog says, LOVE, Designs Life! So, I am wrapping up the week with the strongest message about love yet. The love for one’s self!

Before we wonder whether anyone loves us or if we can love anyone, before we get caught up in who is loving who and when are we going to get ours, know this give love first and foremost to yourself! Whatever relationship you attempt will fail miserably if you do not have self-love. And for those who think to themselves well I just won’t love anyone, good luck with that. Keeping yourself to yourself and not sharing what is the most natural thing for us to do as humans sharing love, is a recipe for the saddest and loneliest existence. One sure to cause pain, bitterness and heartache. We need people to love. We need to give love. It is what we were created for.

How and why we love is a huge mystery, but it is one that we really do not need an answer for to be able to enjoy it’s benefits. As long as we accept it, it has a wonderful way of guiding us. As long as we trust it, it has a remarkable way of serving us. The only thing it asks so that we may enjoy it fully with all its fruits, is that we first and foremost give it to ourselves. If we do not do that, we miss out on so much simply because we won’t recognize love when it is in our presence. We won’t trust love, we won’t believe in love and we certainly won’t accept love as it will be this foreign thing that looks suspicious. Suspicious in that we believe it is something that is going to cause us harm and hurt. This is evident to me every time I hear someone say love hurts or love is pain. This confusion occurs simply because people want something that is not meant for them and they believe that their love will not be realized if they don’t have this. What we love and who we love is not dictated by reason nor is it ruled by it. The relationship we hope to establish still needs to have its own sane rules so our love can live harmoniously. If we don’t have that aspect we may still love, but we must be sensible as to how much contact if any we give the offending party. This is where loving yourself first and foremost is invaluable. Just because you love someone, does not mean they have loving intentions towards YOU!

It seems so simple and almost laughable to say love yourself first when many believe they are already doing that. However, if one takes a close look at their life, their loves and mostly their mistakes, if they are truly honest they may find that they did not always do that and for some they may have never really done that. Because we are influenced by the people around us, this lesson may not have been taught to us and we probably didn’t even really realize this. Please do not feel bad, angry or defensive about this. Most of all be true with yourself about this and if this is the first time you are really thinking about it, congratulations and keep going! What will be waiting for you at the end of the journey is an enlightenment and self awareness that will bring you much more happiness and an increased measure of personal joy. When you can finally have relationships that you are in control of simply because you know how to give love and if needs be walk away, you will value being able to love yourself first and foremost beyond considerable measure. Remember, to thine own self be true and first and foremost, give love!

Peace & Light

Follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/CarollAtkins

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Enlightenment, Happiness, Love, Relationships, Self-Love, Spirituality, Success, Truth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to To Thine Own Self, Give Love!

  1. PK says:

    Absolutely! If we don’t or can’t love ourselves, we will be incapable of loving someone else TRUEY…thanks for the reminder that “I” come first!

  2. Thanks for the reminder to love myself 🙂

  3. NAILED IT! “…before we get caught up in who is loving who and when are we going to get ours, know this give love first and foremost to yourself…” We were created to love YES! People don’t get that! Before anything love yourself. Lead by example. When you don’t love yourself first people see that and react. Its a hard lesson but a valuable one if you get it or read it on a blog all about love!

  4. TheGirl says:

    Nature creates some of the best designs.

Leave a Reply

