What Erodes Love?

What Erodes Love?

I believe in the saying that once you love you always love. I mean everyone I have ever loved when I think of them my heart still smiles no matter what the current situation is. It is not till my brain registers the current situation, that I remember well, we are not really talking much lately or boy he really did not treat me so nice. But for that first few seconds its just the love.

So, why is this? Well, here is my thought. Love is a feeling pure and simple. Love doesn’t take physical shape till we quantify it with loving acts to each other (Stop Trying…You Cannot GET Love). The additional step of performing those acts is where we may struggle. Things just seem to get in the way. Anger, self-righteousness, grudges, judgements, etc., create barriers that keep us from letting the love leap out of our heart, permeate our brain and become our playbook for action. 

Well, with that now said, can we really erode love? In a matter of speaking, yes we can! Because love is a feeling and actions make it visible and apparent, when we cease the loving actions and suppress the feelings, we tarnish love and we strip love’s lustre creating erosion. So, no love will not completely go away, but it can be so tarnished and buried and yes eroded, that recognizing it can be quite a chore.

What can be so strong as to cause this damage? While I am sure there are more things than what I will list, these in my opinion are the biggest. Jealousy. More than a green-eyed monster, this emotion is devastating because of the illusion it presents. One’s mental uneasiness creates fear that can lead to unfaithfulness and resentment. What is more love crushing than that? Fear of Abandonment. While I do believe this fear is borne from childhood traumas, many bring it into adulthood where it can wreaks havoc on current day relationships. It has been said that 90% of our actions come from our subconscious. In our subconscious we have a veritable computer housing many things that we can’t readily recall, but come to the forefront when situations are right. Insecurity. When one’s confidence is low and they are plagued with self-doubt, the situation is now ripe for insecurity to sneak in. Again, I believe this is left over baggage from childhood, but it can also be reinforced with current day behavior being encountered. If one associates with people who do not nurture their love, affirm their being and support their dreams, the lack of those vital love behaviors begin to leave negative impressions on them that can be transferred from one form of relationship to another.

Love is strong because it will not leave us, but it is fragile because it needs us to keep feeding it to keep it burning at it’s highest level. If you have not figured it out, we need love. Not a dull, tarnished deep buried love, but a bright shinning, full of vitality and energy love. For the truly enlightened of us, we know that only one thing makes living life worth it, and that is LOVE!

Peace & Light

Follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/CarollAtkins

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Love, Relationships, Self-Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What Erodes Love?

  1. Love is definitely strong and fragile at the same time. Must always be handled with care.

  2. Since love is a verb I think that it cannot erode. love is a choice and you have to choose to love or not love them anymore. but then again, you can love someone but the season is wrong for you. thinking out loud here…

    • Yes Pammy Pam, you are right love is a verb, so the loving actions are what erodes because without loving actions then love is really just a word. So when our loving actions cease or slow down, that is what I term as being eroded. I agree that the season can be wrong. Makes sense.

      Peace & Light

  3. Wow. I was struck by your first paragraph. I appreciate what you wrote. To get personal a moment, I was so, oh so angry with my ex but I guess a part of me will allow that I do love and care for him through our daughter. Allowing that thought I can be so much happier.

    • That’s all you have to do is be happy! So, doing what that takes is your charge and sometimes it entails getting past your own self, despite yourself to make yourself happy! I am happy you have discovered that.

      Peace & Light

  4. I think love can be eroded. I fell in love with my husband and wanted to marry him the first day I met him. However, it has taken work to keep the love in the relationship strong, vibrant and growing. To keep love from eroding you need to grow and change with life as the years go by.

    • You make a very valid point. Individual growth is a must for both people as well as couple growth. Supporting each other through that growth gives another layer to your relationship and more reasons to stay ever in love. Thank Janeane!

      Peace & Light

  5. So true! Love does make things happier in our lives that is why we should start with ourselves. If we have unhappy memories of ourselves, in various situations, we might be reacting to something we’ve put out of our minds and not even realize it. Reactions to love become second nature. It’s important, like you say to feed the fire to keep it burning bright! Great insight!

Leave a Reply

