Don’t bet on better!

We often find fault in others what we see in ourselves. ~Catkins

“Those who know better do better” so the saying goes. In many cases this can be true. However, what I find more perplexing is how much we elect ourselves judges of who we believe should know better and how much better they should know. In other words, how many times have you said or heard someone say, “Oh they know better, they definitely should know better by now. I am not buying that they don’t know what they are doing.” Why do we feel that our views and judgement of a person’s actions is accurate and valid? Who are we  to say what people know, what they should know and when they should know it? Since when did we become the expert on all life’s paths, life’s travels, life’s experiences, life’s lessons and life’s pitfalls? Just because we have learned somethings in life, does that make us qualified to spell out someone’s timetable for acquiring life’s learned lessons?

The fact is, different people learn different lessons at different times. There is no given factor or milestone that one can point to and say that once a person has reached this point, they should have learned any particular lesson. To subject someone to that is to frankly be unfair and possibly judgmental. Life experiences can  definitely teach us better, but so many repeat the same experiences over and over again, before it actually sinks in and resonates with them. So while we may expect that they will do better, they are still trying to understand. Who’s to say what that timeframe should be. Then there are those who learn the lesson, but just can’t seem to see how it is applicable to their life and their way of doing things. You know those people, the ones who may be struggling to get rid of a vice that they know is a detriment to themselves but, at the same time believe without it life would be infinitely worse. They are convinced of that, but at the same time aware of the dangers which they gladly downplay for themselves.

Knowing that I make somebody’s day better is all that matters at the end of the day.

The point is, we ought not concern ourselves with people and what point in their lives they have learned enough to do differently or better. We are all works in progress and will continue to be that way as long as we agree that we never stop learning. In my opinion, everyone’s mind should always be open so as to bring in new and fresh thoughts and ideas. If someone’s actions and beliefs are not in line with yours, then you have two choices, love them enough to help them achieve a higher level of thinking much as you have, or if you have tried that and they are not accepting, move on, wish them the best and whenever they have found that enlightenment and return, welcome them and praise their new feat. We do nothing positive for each other by condemning and judging them. Before people set out to treat you badly, they are already dealing with treating their own selves badly and more than likely not loving themselves and believing in themselves. So, what should they know? It doesn’t matter, because the question is, what do you know? In fact should the question not be rhetorical? If YOU know better, shouldn’t YOU do better? Instead of applying the question to any other person, apply it to yourself and keep it right there, because the fact of the matter is only your thoughts and actions are within your control and deserves your scrutiny. Learn better and do better and be an example for everyone else to follow, and believe that they will do so all in their due time, just like you!

Peace & Light

Follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/CarollAtkins

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Communication, Enlightenment, Excellence, Forgiveness, Love, Peace, Relationships, Self-Love, Spirituality, Success and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Don’t bet on better!

  1. melisasource says:

    Amen!! I love this — you spoke absolute truth!!

  2. jolynproject says:

    I really enjoyed this one. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Djrelat7 says:

    I think that is the thought I repeat most often…. I am only responsible for myself, I can only control myself; I cannot make anyone do something they do not want to do. People will learn the lesson when they want to and the I told you so is not necessary. We all struggle with that, I know I have. When the shoe is on my foot and not someone else I ignore the same advice or thoughts I would give someone else in my situation. The mind is a tricky thing indeed, even when its our own. Great Post!

    • Thanks Djrelat7! I agree with you totally. It took me a while to accept that people don’t just know better because I know better. I have grasped that concept now and it has made life so much better. Thank you for being so open.

      Peace & Light

  4. Gwendolyn Harper says:

    Awesome!!!!!

  5. Great, great post! Very inspirational and truthful. I love it!

Leave a Reply

