Extraordinarily YOU!

An ordinary person, doing many small ordinary things makes that person EXTRAORDINARY. ~Catkins ©2012

By now we have all learned the saying “be you, everyone else is taken.” Great quote and definitely thought provoking, but I think we can all agree we need more.  The more we need is simple. Some of us regardless of this statement, just do not feel that we are all that so what is so great about being ourselves? We do not feel we are anything great or really special. We actually feel pretty plain, and well yes, ordinary. Guess what, if you feel this way, you may just be right!

What?!? Shock! Did she really say that? Here is the thing. Being you is only the first step of your personal Journey of Authenticity. Now, we must make that journey mean something, not to anyone, but to ourselves. As I have said before, we are not meant to settle and stay stagnant. Our subconscious knows that. Our heart knows that and most of all, our spirit knows that. This is why we have that feeling. That feeling that we have not done enough. Spirit is your guide. Even when your brain says give up, you have done enough, spirit will not rest if there is still more you are destined to do. Spirit brings you to your future. Following spirit will ultimately bring you the self-satisfaction that you desire. When you are acting from spirit, you feel fulfilled, of service and beyond ordinary, you feel EXTRAORDINARY!

How do you know when spirit is truly talking to you? In my experience, the following signs/principals was my way of knowing that my spirit was guiding me and wanted me to take action. My failure to follow the signs at the time, only brought me back around to them later, but then it was harder to accomplish the task and sometimes, the opportunity simply was not there anymore.  Make no mistake, once you follow your spirit you WILL be extraordinary. Following our spirit is NOT how we are taught to pursue life.  We are given a blue print that is pretty much cookie cutter. Go to school, get a job, preferably one that can be a career, get married, have a family and live happily ever after.  30-50 years ago, this was good advice that for the most part worked.  Our culture here in the U.S. and some other countries, supported that framework. Today, while this framework still has merit, it is just not enough. We need more, we want more, we are driven to do more. Unfortunately, some of us do not understand that our spirits are wanting and needing us to do more, so we suffer and feel disillusioned and even depressed.

…the success is in the pursuit. ~Catkins ©2012

So, back to the signs/principals I mentioned earlier, which I follow to help me fulfill my spirit’s desires.  Number oneGo through life with a belief that there is no obstacle that you cannot overcome or conquer. Following this principal I learned the difference between surrendering and submitting. It is ok to surrender when you realize maybe YOU don’t have the answer. You can at that point seek help, but never submit to believing that there is no answer and giving up. This is the same as giving up. Number twoTake action right away on a new idea. This one took me many, many failed starts, because I just was too afraid and did not believe the idea had merit, or would be a success. I had to learn the hard way, that the success is in the pursuit. Having the idea produce fruit or bring me results was merely another step in the pursuit of the idea. However, not following through on the idea, was absolute failure. Number threeStop procrastination once and for all! In reference to Number two, this was also part of the reason why I did not follow through. I simply missed my chance through my procrastination. I was part of the club that believed, I did my best work under pressure. I may have done good work under pressure as adrenaline drove me, but after reviewing the work and being honest with myself, I had to admit it was not my most complete effort, and I missed great opportunities to show even more of what I could do. Procrastination is a major topic all of its own. Nonetheless, I will say this, if you are prone to procrastination, you can be sure it is because you lack faith that you are able to complete the project in a perfect manner of which you have predetermined. Believing you cannot achieve that perfection makes you not even want to start.  If it is something that must be done, well eventually, under stress you get it done, and so surprised that you completed it, you now believe to create something good, you must be under pressure and stress from time restraints.  Still, you do not believe that you always had it in you to do the job and you may have even exceeded your own criteria, had you just started in a reasonable time frame. Finally, number fourspend time with your thoughts so that you can determine exactly what you want out of life. Leave no mental stone unturned. Examine everything, after all anything that is happening in your mind is not actually happening and no one can see what you are thinking. This is your dress rehearsal for what you will pursue to make your life what you would desire it to be. When I did this practice, I found that a lot of what I thought I wanted, was simply ideas instilled in me through many mediums.  My parents, society, my lack of wanting to push myself, aka laziness, fear and a belief there was an unseen force that shrouded me and would keep me from really getting what I want.  You know the saying “it’s not in the cards for me” well I believe that! Now I know that whatever I desire is possible as long and I am not opposed to using good, sane methods in addition to my own to make it happen. My propensity to shun asking for help had to be abolished. Numbers 1-3 had to be firmly in place as well.

In my humble opinion, I do believe these are some pretty good ingredients to making one less ordinary and feeling like they are not meeting their full potential! Not many can follow this regime and stick with it, so right there, if you can do it and stick with it, well you will absolutely not be like the rest, or run of the mill or ordinary.  You will be set apart, ahead of the rest and yes, you shall definitely be EXTRAORDINARY!! No super powers, no mental genius and no super star status.
Peace & Light

Follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/CarollAtkins

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Enlightenment, Excellence, Happiness, Spirituality, Success and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Extraordinarily YOU!

  1. jolynproject says:

    I believe the Universe aligns things just perfectly. This is one of those moments. I needed to read this. Thank you.

  2. James says:

    Interesting perspective and some very good advice, I especially found interesting the reasons you stated for some folks procrastination originating from a belief of not being able to complete a task, in oppose to just being lazy and careless; or arrogant in thinking that you can get the task done competently at the last minute.

  3. This is very good,. very good,..

Leave a Reply

