grAttitude!!!

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow. –Melody Beattie

“If only I had a little more of this or that, then I would be satisfied you say.”  Hmm, really? I beg to differ.  I firmly believe that even if you tripled all you have, you still would not be satisfied.  How do I know?  How can I make such a statement?  I do so because I know that satisfaction is objective and subjective.  For the most part, human beings look without and not within and this can severely color their world, beliefs and personal drive.  For most, it is contingent on their perception of what they have in comparison to what others have.  This world of consumerism and the constant bombardment of advertising telling you that you should have this and you are not complete without that plays a huge role in your satisfaction quotient.  We ignore internal signals that makes us question do we really need this?

Having no satisfaction makes it increasingly hard to have gratitude because you are living in a state of limbo.  Waiting to reach a perceived sense of satiety is the surest way to have an attitude of non-gratitude.  Contentment breeds satisfaction which fosters gratitude.  We love to say how blessed we are.  We utter this EVEN while we are living desperate lives.  Desperately unhappy, desperately searching purpose, desperately desiring real love and honest affection.  I propose that we count our blessings ONLY AFTER we have found myriad of ways in which we can be thankful.  Try it!  See how much harder it is to say “I am thankful for this or I am thankful for that” in place of saying the blanket statement “I am blessed.”  Somehow, thankfulness spurs you into action.  Living a life of gratitude means living a life of being present, in the moment, in the now.  When you do so, you tend to miss very little in your life and also just as important in others lives.  In my previous blog Gratitude…Sincerely! I spoke about how we must endeavor to be sincere in our gratitude, but lately I am encountering so many situations where gratitude is not present at all.

Who does not thank for little will not thank for much. –Estonian Proverb

It seems we only remember gratitude when we are in peril of some sort.  However, were our lives to resemble Aesop Fables, we would forever live in gratitude creating noble souls to walk the land.  Gratitude goes beyond what you have and what I have.  It is simply a gift, but a gift that we MUST share.  Think about it this way, not showing gratitude and keeping the thought and action to ourselves is like wrapping a gift and not giving it.

Know this, every minute spent on you, every dollar given to you, every kind word spoken of you and to you, deserves your gratitude, for this is generosity in action, and to feel and appreciate its great value, try living on the other side where you experience the cold and uncaring attitude called INDIFFERENCE!

Big thanks to you for your time, attention, consideration and interest, now and always!

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Enlightenment, Gratification, Gratitude, Happiness, Love, Relationships, Spirituality, Success, Truth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to grAttitude!!!

  1. I totally agree with the comment regarding the “Blanket” statement of “I’m Blessed,”. “Wheew!”,.. to hear this, and still see people behaving and carrying on the way they do causes me to scratch my head while shaking it at the same time, For me to have gone through the tragedies and setbacks that I have had over the past few years and still have the strength to rise up every morning looking forward to each day with a wide smile and open eyes, I am most certainly Thankful! Grateful! And very Appreciative To even Breathe the mornings fresh air and to see and hear the Birds Chirping each and every day!
    Yes! You are correct,. after recognizing this,. then I can say that these are my Blessings,. and I am Thankful for them,..

    Really dig the “Looking without,. instead of Within”,.. Cool,..

    Excellent Post!

    • Thank you Eric! That is exactly it!!! For all the blessings I am hearing people have and seeing how un-blessed they act, caused me to think. Everybody is blessed we should automatically know that. Life is the ultimate blessing. The trick is to see how thankful we can become and remain. More thankful, more gratitude bigger better life 🙂

Leave a Reply

