Of Love and Indifference!

“Despair is a narcotic.  It lulls the mind into indifference.” ~Charlie Chaplin

How many of you thought that my title would be Of Love and Hate?  Probably a lot of you.  While we commonly believe the flip side of love is hate, I beg to differ.  Love evokes action and so does hate.  They both take a stance and as such they both can be discussed or argued as the case permits.  However, indifference leaves no room for any of that type of action.  Indifference is a veritable lack of interest or concern.  It takes no stance one way or the other which makes it impossible to argue or discuss.

When someone utters I don’t care, it’s more than likely they do care!  I believe it is just an impassioned response to a puzzling issue that requires them to expose their deep seated feelings and emotions, all of which they may be very uncomfortable doing and all of which the only reason they WOULD do it is because they LOVE and the love fuels them. Upon close examination, you may find that these people are incapable of receiving love, because it is so hard for them to TRUST enough to OFFER love themselves.  On even closer examination, you may find that they probably do not believe that they deserve love which is really the root of the whole situation.  So we have a chain reaction that happens so silently and thoroughly with calculated non-loving actions and thoughts that scream at them saying “you better get what you want and deserve”.  These acts and thoughts both subconscious and conscious, torment them trying to prove to them that they really don’t care.  Herein lies the danger. They practice these actions so constantly and intently, that it starts to weaken their body and kill the joy from their soul slowly and surely like dry rot that has set in on your favorite pair of shoes. You can typically hear them utter words like “I am just so tired” or “I don’t know what people want from me”.  When this action continues, in order not to face the root of the problem, they become indifferent.  They cannot be bothered to care it is just too painful.  They don’t realize that the fact that they cannot choose, is actually a glimmer of hope and the first step to realizing that their spirit knows that they should care, they MUST care because they want to love and they want to be loved.

Love, which is what our spirits are in its purest essence, cannot endure indifference.  You will experience a turmoil in your soul unless you work on a resolution to your indifference.  When you are tormented inside, everything you come into contact with on the outside become tarnished.  Remember the dry rot? Well it is contagious, but the cure is within you .  Throughout creation love can be found, intertwined within the universe.  Nature puts on a grand display of this.  There is a need for all things in nature as they keep the balance and cohesiveness, which helps to promote beauty, life and nourishment.  We too need to seek that balance cause balance brings happiness and happiness can help to reveal love.  So, LOVE truly is the cure for indifference.  INDIFFERENCE!  Surefire way to die before dying!

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of Love and Indifference!

Leave a Reply

