Addicted To Denial

“Denial ain’t just a river in Egypt” ~Mark Twain

Life is harsh, you know this first hand.  Disappointment after disappointment starts to tear us down.  In no time we start to breed doubt.  Doubt becomes our constant companion.  We cloak ourselves with it. Use it to shield against the hard times the pain.  What we don’t realize is we are cultivating our doubt into something so much more.

Rather than face the hard work of changing our mindset and having faith we just employ doubt.  Rather than staying the course of believing that every thing that happens is for a reason and we can change our course simply by changing our views, we doubt.  Rather than viewing a disappointment as an opportunity to learn more about ourselves, and using it as a vehicle for growth, we doubt.

Now our doubt firmly in place, we start to indulge in it, treasure it, in fact we actually cherish it.  It is in fact our amour.  At this point our doubt has become denial!

Denial is so destructive because it allows us to become numb to the difficulties in our lives and we are indifferent to the trials.  We build huge mental walls to block pain out of our lives.  Slowly we rob ourselves of life and we are now only existing.  Going along with the day praying not another thing goes wrong, and when it does we spiral. Some of us employ behavior that is destructive and some of us just drop out of life till we can drop back in.  Either way this wreaks havoc on our productive and mental lives.  We are unable to get anything accomplished.  Dreams are perpetually put on hold, visions are deferred and plans are never fully executed.

If in life you want something dearly then you should have it.  Life has not excluded you from it.  You have!  You have because you focus on the obstacles and not the goal.  You believe that everything, everyone and every situation is just waiting to get you.  You tuck this nicely in the back of your mind.  This is your denial cloak.  You will quickly pick it up and wear it the moment something negative happens and you refuse to give it up, denying that you will ever get what you want.  It just won’t happen.  You are now subliminally on the defensive.  If you are honest with yourself, you will realize that your denial is trying to tell you something bigger about yourself.  Something that is the key to unlocking key information about yourself.  Investigate it, analyze it, let it lead you to the truth.  Let it lead you to your truth!  Take your coat off a sit a spell!!

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Control, Enlightenment, Truth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Addicted To Denial

  1. Ayanna says:

    Playing “catch up” a bit today! Great post! Reminds me of my “oh well” attitude! Thank goodness for growth. There’s a place “oh well” moments but they can’t be the motto of one’s life.

  2. Take us to CHURCH Carol!!!! YEs….Yes…YES!! & more yes! Wow……..Awesome, aweseome….POST!

  3. Frederica says:

    This is amazing! And so very true! I have really swapped doubt for faith and I’m definitely pushing myself to be the best I can and be and take advantage of every opportunity. It’s imperative for self growth and self belief. Thanks for sharing hon! xx

    • It’s God’s plan for us Hun! We have to meet challenges head on because opportunity is the flip side to that. Just believe that there is never a loss only valuable lessons for life. Go Freddy, go! You are definitely on the right track! Always, Love!

  4. Very True,. I totally agree,.

  5. Thank you Dimitri! I think I should have called it a disease because when it gets into someone it permeates their being and cannot be easily abolished.

    OAN: I am loving your stuff. I read when I have time. You have some excellent videos that I am sharing on my FB page.

    Thank you for shinning your star!

  6. excellent, excellent post! thank you mi amor!

Leave a Reply

