My Ultimate Love Story

“If you understand, things are just as they are: if you do not understand, things are just as they are.” ~Zen Proverbs

I have a good friend that says she is a hopeless romantic.  I would agree.  Her views on relationship are truly romance filled with an ample dosing of love, a desire to accept her lover’s gifts and limitations and he would do the same, as well as the all important living happily ever after ending.  It is simple for her because the glue that she believes will tie all of that together is commitment!  If you commit to be with each other in a relationship through thick and thin, then you have now set the stage for the ultimate romance story.

I, myself am not so different from my friend. I would consider myself a hopeful romantic.  To me romance is a state that sets the stage for hope.  Hope that I will be able to exist on the level that renders it possible that I can truly surrender through love.  For me, the state of being able to surrender is the goal because it means that I no longer have issues with the past.  I will accept each new moment as a gift.  I will have no expectations, but will view love as the ultimate gift that can accomplish anything especially when I have no clue what will happen next.  I will live ultimately through the power of attraction and the realization that whatever happens happens for a reason, even if I cannot see that reason at the moment.  Living this way it the only way to give pure love and thus create my own romantic love story.  See, the person who is sharing this life and state of living with me can now love me without feeling like they have to meet any preconceived expectations at the same time I will feel free to give my beloved what they need and want.

As I have mentioned many times before, the goal of living is to be able to live on the level of spirit.  This is no different. The opposite of spirit is ego.  As with many other situations, ego is also a threat to your love story.  Let’s review, ego says I want, give me, I need, I am always right and you are predictably wrong.  Once you are on that path, you will never achieve that level of loving because ego’s only goal is self-promotion, self-importance, self’s desires.  Who can live in that environment?  Any individual that even tries to make a life with you will find that there is not a place in the relationship for them.  You already have me and I in there.

With spirit, your needs and desires are quite different.  Spirit promotes love and understanding, it seeks to create a freedom for both individuals to be themselves and not a need to attach in a limiting way.  It is the most honest way to give of yourself.  It is the ultimate way in which to create and surrender to your ultimate love story!

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Love, Relationships, Spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Ultimate Love Story

  1. Ayanna says:

    Purely coincidental that I’m reading this to the opening credits of the movie “Valentine’s Day”!! I worry about the state of love in a society that is so arousal centric. However, for those who seek its tender fruit, the path is not always plain. Great points in the right directions her!!

  2. caribkid says:

    Simplistic, truthful and beautifully written. If only we could remove our egos on a daily basis to allow the light to reach our souls.

  3. Doris Lamontagne says:

    Wow!!! This is so true. I love the way you write. You are truly talented. Doris

  4. Very Good! I agree,. the Ego with most people in relationships is definitely a problem,..

Leave a Reply

