False Identity!

 

Have you thought to yourself, “who am I, I mean who am I really”?  I am sure at some point in our life you have given that some thought.  What if I were to tell you that it is not necessary to think you are any one kind of person.  Now, I am not suggesting you become Cybil and think you are many personalities, I am saying that once you start to think I am this and I am that, or I should be this or I must be that, then you slowly loose what you are and that is human.  A human who has the ability to think at any given time serious, thoughts, loving thoughts, provoking thoughts.  Once you start putting your self in a box and thinking well, I am a so and so or such and such, then next thing that is sure to happen is your thought process becomes limited to the scope of what you think a so and so should do or be.  That labeling process will eventually take the life out of your living because you will no longer be living you will now be performing!

See, when you are performing you are putting on false identities.  For some of us, we can go pretty deep with it.  Layers and layers till we can’t even recognize our own self.  We do this largely because society gives us all these messages that we ought to be one of a myriad of personalities to succeed in life.  To be loved.  To be successful.  To be unique! To be special.  To be SOMEBODY!!  What is so funny is, at the end of the day all we want to be loved and accepted by our family, friends and associates.  So why do we go through all this trouble to separate ourselves from each other?  I believe we do this because even worse than not being a somebody is being thought of as a nobody.  We must have an identity, and not just any identity but one that is wildly accepted by society.  So we perform and we loose our creativity, spirit and even our soul.  We become drone like.  The beauty of the seeds of our thoughts is no longer available to share with each other because we cannot risk being looked at as dare I say an individual.  Can you see the conundrum here, we want to be a somebody outstanding among our peers, but we want to achieve that following the conformity of the crowd.  Does that make you think?  Yeah me too!

Today more than ever we are encouraged to be ourselves.  “Do you!”.  Those who know that to live peacefully with others is to tolerate others being free to bring what they bring without judgement.  I coined my own phrase.  I call it “Transcend the sphere”.  So no longer is it enough to think outside the box, we have to think globally!  Start peeling away your identities and stop the thought process that leads you to creating a persona for yourself.  Realize that you are everything and everything is you.  Embrace the phrase that starts and ends with the simple words “I am”.  Stop thinking of ways to make yourself this fantastic individual and realize you are already fantastic and yes you are an individual.  No one else is quite like you.  You don’t have to develop any personality to make someone like you, respect you, love you, admire you.  YOU just have to do that for your own self and in doing so your light will shine and those who would be like you, wanting to be an individual that is, will be drawn to your light as they share their own with you.  This is when you will arrive to the place where you’re no longer serving self, and you are now about serving others, which is the only personality the creator has ever wanted of us!

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Love, Peace, Self-Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to False Identity!

  1. melisasource says:

    Love this post! My saying is: “The only way I know how to be is me–all day every day!” Like you said no need to try to live something you’re not–just be yourself! Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. hrh413 says:

    Good thoughts! Everyone tries so hard to be a somebody, when they’re already unique, wonderfully-made individuals. Everyone is already a somebody just because they are themselves! There is no need to try further. I wish more people would realize this! Thank you for sharing!

    • Thank you hrh413! The more I look at people through eyes of originality, the more I see those who follow this mindset are so inspiring to me. We say and usually with admiration things like “Sue really doesn’t sweat anything, she just does her.” However, when it comes to us doing the same we draw the line. Many of us are in desperate need of reprogramming before we deprogram.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Love it Caroll. Pretty cool we are on the same page today!

  4. Anonymous says:

    That was me cuzz – Tony.

  5. Anonymous says:

    “Realize that you are everything and everything is you” – I am trying to think of who said that or wrote it.

    • If you do please let me know. So many things are said that we don’t quite know where it came from and then again a lot of things are not original. However if someone said that, I would love to read anything else they may have written.

  6. Shonda says:

    I love this! It rings very true, especially in a society where people work soo very hard to wear soo many hats and to be soo many different people in an effort to please everyone around them. I am thrilled that I subscribe to the notion that I can be my ‘unique’ self at all times and in all situations, always trying to radiate the most positive energy and vibes, while being mindful of what each individual that i interact with is in need of. Some days I fall short of the energy I radiate because I am human but at all times I am mindful and very aware of who I am.
    I like the word ‘transcend’, it’s acutally a part of my dissertation research methodology. I love the life connections!

    Great post….

    • Thanks Shonda! The free-ness it affords you cannot be compared to anything. The you you are is enough and what’s more it can be inspiring.

      Thanks for your input. I love it! Getting your point of view, especially since you are quite aware of this topic is invaluable. I appreciate it.

      Peace & Light my sista!!

  7. Caroll!

    This is amazing and I just want to say thank you, from the very depth of my soul….thank you! I had an extreme monkey on my back this AM and didn’t even have the words………God is good and he lives in you! God is good…this is what the world needs.. LIGHT! Thank you my siSTAR! #bestoneyet!

    • You are welcome Tosh. When I was writing it I thought this one could very well be the one. I started thinking of so many people I know and how I see them struggling to be a “somebody” and how it is sad cause who they naturally are is so great. I had a conversation with my brother yesterday. He really inspired me because for as long as I have known him he has always marched to his own beat. I am glad this is inspiring to you. Thanks for the feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

