Down to the nitty gritty…INTEGRITY!

 

Integrity is the firm adherence to a code of moral and ethical principals. It is displaying a soundness of moral character and honesty and virtuousness.

We are on a collision course.  Crashing into each other.  I am not talking physically, but mentally, emotionally and morally.  We have lost our way and we are meandering through the maze trying to fit in where we fit in.  Why is this?  Most of us have had several blue prints on how to proceed with our lives. Books like the Bible, Koran and the Torah are filled with stories, principles, lessons and laws on how to live a virtuous life, yet we struggle with this immensely.  So what can we do about this?  How can we fix this?  Should we love each other more?  Maybe.  Should we respect each other more? Probably.  Should we go within an ask ourselves are we living a life where we display moral, ethical, and honest and virtuous characteristics?  Absolutely!  I love the saying “all I am is my word, it’s all I have to give”.  Can anything truly be better or be worth more to you than someone’s word?  I can’t imagine it.

When we accept that the integrity of our personal existences are completely dependent on the integrity of everything else in our world. We will truly understand the meaning of unconditional love.

Integrity can connect us to love and respect.  It gives them a reason, it IS the reason.  Integrity has many meanings, however for the purpose of this entry I am concerned with two.  Integrity of purpose and integrity of moral character.  Integrity of purpose means we can trust that what someone says they will do, they do or make every effort to do it.  It gives us a sense of trust and we build confidence in them.  We want this feeling and we need this feeling.  It makes us feel connected to each other and we all want this even if we sometimes will not admit it.  Integrity of moral character is tricky, but in my opinion so necessary in the human culture.  Your morals and values are what most of us look to when deciding who we will let into our circle of friends.  We tend to like to associate with people of like values and increasingly we are learning it is a good idea to associate with people who are goal oriented if we aspire to be that way ourselves.  Our values are key to how we will eventually treat people and assert ourselves.  If we believe one should not cheat, steal or kill, we will want to surround ourselves with those types of people and we will expect that they will stay true to this value.  We count on it and so we can relax knowing that we are relatively safe from this type of unacceptable behavior.  I say integrity of moral character is tricky, because we all know some people who have morals that are lets say a bit loose.  They can have many shades of gray.  For instance, if I support feeding the hungry, may I steal to do so?  Technically, I am standing behind my word and so the integrity of my word is sound, but is my character ethical?  I believe not hence it would not be good enough.

Still today, we have many sayings in our culture that lets us know that we do value and we do need people to be about their word.  “My word is my bond” and simply “word” is popular as ever and it means something to us. Simply put, integrity is a concept that we will be consistent with our value, methods, actions, principles and even methods of how we proceed in life.  We will aspire to make these actions ethical and honest so as not to alienate people who trust us.  We must maintain this internal consistency as our virtue.  A few posts ago, I spoke about being a Flake.  Well in my opinion, the lack of integrity makes on far worse than a flake, this in my mind makes one a hypocrite!  Now, I know there is no gray area around this.  WORD!

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Communication, Integrity, Love, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Down to the nitty gritty…INTEGRITY!

  1. “WORD” is a staple in my online “branding.” It never went out of style for me for the very reasons that you’ve outlined here. It’s far more than a word of agreement and affirmation; it boils down to integrity and truth of self.

    Loved this post.

  2. Pingback: CAROLL ATKINS : INTEGRITY! ‹ Dluxs Network

  3. I like this very much, and I a totally agree with every bit of it!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hi, it;s Tosh!!! This is so true>>>>love it and I agree with Frederica whole heartly!

  5. Frederica says:

    I don’t think you realise how important these posts are in my life right now. You are keeping me upright when all I want to do is fall right now. They are so inspiring! Thank you so much for sharing!! Love you Caroll! Let’s please talk soon! Freddie xxxx

    • Caroll says:

      Freddie, you are welcome. Wow, I didn’t even know you had had a chance to read them. I am so happy they are a help. Sometimes I wonder just how many are really reading them, but I promise to keep them coming. I am ready to talk anytime you need me Hun. Inbox me on FB or call I am here for you. Love you more. XOXO

Leave a Reply

