Gratitude…Sincerely!

“When we realize that God has given us free will to do and act as we choose, but he has created a universe that responds to positive affirmations, we will be thankful for all that we have and all that we are and gracefully enjoy measure by measure his wonderful blessings that surpass more than we could ever desire.”  ~CAtkins 2011

Almost everyone I speak to are happy to say that they practice gratitude.  “I am thankful for what I have, yes ma’am praise God” is something I hear quite a bit.  Compared to the 80’s when more often than not people thought they were entitled and gave the art of being grateful not much thought at all.  So why am I talking about gratitude if we “get it”?  Because what I think we don’t get is sincere gratitude.  I think after a decade of learning to say the obligatory thank you and repeating the popular “Thank you Jesus”, it has become just something we say and we are no longer mindful of the true concept of it and the sheer power of sincere gratitude.

How does sincere gratitude have power?  As I spoke of in my previous blog entry Spiritually speaking!, I believe every living thing gives off and creates energy.  Not good or bad, just energy.  It is our thoughts and desires that make that energy good or bad, or more specific positive or negative.  When you align yourself with the belief that gratefulness should be your continuous state of being, you are creating positive energy which will attract positive situations.  Think of it this way.  We are like a magnet, ready to attract all kinds of experiences to ourselves.  Based on this, it would be fair to say that we may be considered neutral energy.  If we now spend time feeling any kind of emotion whether it be joy, anger, fear, happiness or gratitude we create a force to attract more of the same to ourselves.  Think of sayings like “when it rains it pours”, and “if it is not one thing it is another” or the popular “what could go wrong now” and then consider these sayings were born of negative experiences that seemed to go on and on.  Could it be that if we had just stopped and redirected our energy to recognizing all the favors God has bestowed on us, we could actually change the flow of energy around us?  I think so and what’s more I believe God structured the universe to help us do just that.  When we realize that God has given us free will to do and act as we choose, but he has created a universe that responds to positive affirmations, we will be thankful for all that we have and all that we are and gracefully enjoy measure by measure his wonderful blessings that surpass more than we could ever desire.  Important to note is, if we choose not to go along with this way of thinking then we are in resistance.  We all know that resistance is negative energy that says “no I don’t want this”, so the universe is now primed to respond and says oh Caroll wants me to send more things she doesn’t want her way.  Just like that we have planted the seed and the funny thing is we have no idea when it will bloom and isn’t it always the way that it blooms just when we do not need it.  Not like we ever need it, but you know the most inconvenient time.  So if you accept this thought, then why not stay in a position of positivity.

I can hear you now, “how do you expect me to be sincerely grateful when everything is falling apart?”  Look at it this way, since our thoughts are what predicts our experiences, it stands to reason we should remain in gratitude with positive thoughts.  Oh, I am not suggesting that we are robots and as soon as something unexpected happens we smile like we are deranged and say “it’s all ok, it will be ok”, I am simply saying that after we acknowledge the disappointment, we get about the business of realizing what we can now do to make the best of the situation.  We simply should not wallow in what happened feeding it all kinds of energy.  The saying “everything happens for a reason and all things work for the greater good” are true and useful sayings.  Be grateful you have the moments and even more grateful that you have the power to change future moment by employing gratitude and positivity.

To help with remaining in gratitude, try keeping a gratitude list or journal.  Also keep a mental list too.  Write in your journal every day because everyday there is something you should be grateful for even if it is the air that you breathe.  Make this a habit.  Change your thought process patterns to reflect seeing the benefits instead of the problems.  Share your grateful feelings with others.  Accept no one into your circle who does the opposite and most of all realize that God loves us all equally and favors no one over the other.  It is our view of life and our level of gratitude that gives his love a rating.  Remember to be in opposition to this makes us, well to be blunt UNGRATEFUL!

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gratitude…Sincerely!

  1. Raya says:

    Are you sure we don’t know each other? This post SPOKE volumes to me! WONDERFUL!

  2. You already know how I feel about being grateful and having an attitude of gratitude (waaaay beyond what people “normally” say & do). This is one of my favorite topics *gratitude journal already in hand* 🙂

    You hit the nail on the head with this one as SINCERITY is key!!!

  3. Pingback: grAttitude!!! « LoveDesignLife

  4. there is so much to be grateful for, as you said, for starters,. breathing air everyday. I believe it doesn’t get any better than that.

  5. Pingback: Pity Party Parade « LoveDesignLife

Leave a Reply

