Spiritually speaking…

 

Thus far, I have blogged about a variety of subjects, but I have not touched on one subject that is the most central to my life. My Spirituality is my anchor.  In my first blog entry Journey of Authenticity, I explained how we all must take a route of self-authenticity if we are to live our best and most truest life.  Well, for me this journey cannot and will not happen if I do not connect with a power greater than myself. GOD.  Now, I am not taking anything away from those who are religiously inclined.  I actually believe that spirituality is an awareness that does not need religion, however it can certainly compliment the religious individual’s overall beliefs.

To me spirituality is all about believing in a power that operates in the universe that is greater than oneself and the universe.  This leads me to feel a sense of interconnectedness to all living creatures and a desire to understand my place and their place in the world.  Through spirituality, I am driven to understand the purpose and meaning of life.  That journey directly led me to consider what are my values and what morals do I hold dear.  Spirituality brings me comfort.  It gives me hope.  To be specific, it centers me!

So what can living a spiritual life do for you?  Or more importantly, is living a spiritual life the route for you.  To be blunt, yes!  Regardless of what religion you follow, spirituality fits.  For me spirituality has increased my awareness of how much compassion I am showing others.  It has made me aware of the kind of energy I bring to others.  Would this awareness be valuable in your life?  I am sure it would.  However if you still doubt me, could you not use some inner peace?  I know I need that on a daily basis not to mention with inner peace comes added health benefits.  The scientific world is proving every day, that the added benefits of incorporating spirituality in your life can be major.  Faith in God, compassion towards others, selflessness and a sense of inner peace is a definite recipe that can absolutely contribute to a healthier you.

Consider this, we all have been introduced at some point in our life to prayer.  However, do we really know how to pray or what to pray for.  Spirituality makes it clear, and since I believe that prayer is releasing energy into the universe, it is a necessary thing to know how and what to pray for.  My use and belief of prayer led me to faith.  The innate ability to believe that what I desire can be reality is appealing to me simply because, since you don’t know for sure, why not believe it can.  I guess you could definitely say I am a glass half-filled person.  Now with great faith it stands to reason that I would definitely have hope.  I never give up hope, point blank.  I was raised with a mother who preached hope and she got it from her mother.  Hope cannot be explained, you either are gonna have it or not.  Recently, I discovered that my hope had additional beneficial powers and that was forgiveness.  Singly the most powerful thing a person can do.  When one releases the anger, resentment, disappointment and hostility from past hurts it can be such a cleansing experience.  When you use the tenets of spirituality to consider the person who hurt you and their existence, you realize that the forgiveness is not for them or to excuse them, but for you.  You decide since you cannot change what has been done, its best to forgive.  This will free your soul, lighten your load and give you a better grasp on your emotional well-being.

So, here I am, with all that I have said, I am back to where I always begin and that is with love.  Spirituality=Love!  Love of oneself, one’s environment, those in it and the things in it.  Everyone and everything has a purpose.  Every situation has a reason.  Love is the question, reason and answer, isn’t it?  Spiritually speaking that is.

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Forgiveness, Happiness, Love, Peace, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spiritually speaking…

  1. Djrelat7 says:

    I know that since I have worked on strengthening my spirituality and my bond with God, I do feel at peace and that definitely makes life much easier to live 🙂 While love cannot feed me I do believe in my heart that sometimes its enough to conquer anything! Great Post!

  2. I think a spiritual life is essential in any person’s life. I aim to connect deeper and deeper with my faith in God and the deeper I go the more peace I have within! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Tresa Tela says:

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks

    • Actually, it was free. Go to http://www.wordpress.com and click on the big orange button that says get started here and you can follow along. There are many style and themes you can choose from. I chose this one because I love a great photo as a focal point to my blog. It’s not as hard as it may seem. Give it a try. Good luck!

  4. Pingback: Gratitude…Sincerely! « LoveDesignLife

  5. Anonymous says:

    GOD IS LOVE…….this is great! 🙂 I am right there with you!

Leave a Reply

