Hear ye, hear ye….

 

“As we let our light shine, we consciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence actually liberates others.” ~Marianne Williamson

Why is this so very hard for us to do? All you have to do is turn on the tv and you will find so many reality shows full of dysfunctional people.  People plagued by fears they don’t even realize is a fear because they have been living with it for so long.  Our world is becoming more and more broken emotionally and morally, which is surprising because in other areas we are becoming more and more enlightened.  Why are we, in the 21st century still so afraid to tackle our emotional issues?  Morally, why are we so wishy washy?  Well I have a theory and that is we are plagued with anger and lack of forgiveness.  This causes PAIN within us and ultimately it is the pain that causes us NOT to shine our light.  We are hurting and we are in the dark.  What are we hurting from, well where can I begin.  Childhood wrongs, man issues, woman issues, self-sabotaging issues, relationship issues and on and on.  We have got to learn how to FORGIVE!  I don’t mean just saying the words, I forgive or I forgive you, but truly, truly doing so, and let me tell you that that right there, oooo weeee is painful in and of it self.  Sometimes even more so than what ever the thing that was done to us.  However, it must be done.  For so long I truly thought that was some feel good talk and all I had to do was ignore the person and life was fine.  Then I realized it is not the person that causes the turmoil within, it is the unresolved issue.  You may say “I don’t have any unresolved issue, they did me wrong so they have got to go”, but yes you do have issues and I will show you why.  If you continue to take this route with everyone that does you wrong, sooner or later you will be uttering these words, “why do people always try me.  Why do they keep taking advantage of me.  Why do they take my kindness for weakness.”  See to forgive is to spend time understanding what went wrong and owning whatever part you need to own so you can see the situation clearer.  This will help you make better choices in the future so you will encounter less and less of these situations.  These situations really do become heavy burdens, because it really does take much energy to keep up anger and indifference.  This is not a natural state for our spirit to exist in.  So every time we see that person or even hear their name we have to remind ourselves of their wrong doing and then assume the position.  Now, is it any wonder that we cannot shine?  We are too shrouded in pain, indifference and anger.  There is no peace for us and we all know that peace within is what shines a light.  Peace with all that we are and all that we have no matter how much or how little, will shine the brightest light and others seeing this will feel empowered to do the same.

“May peace be with you; my peace I give to you: I give it not as the world gives.  Let not your heart be troubled, let it be without fear.” ~John 14:27

God gave us this precious gift and it is up to us to keep it and maintain it and yes give it to others, because that is the only way we will truly be able to keep.  So apart from forgiveness how can we give peace?  We can do it with LOVE!  When we give love we shine!  It in turn creates peace within others.  Even if we feel we have not been loved, to turn around and give it will push us forward in life tremendously.  If people in your past were in a position where they should have given you love and didn’t, unconsciously they are figures you want to emulate cause somehow they become the power holders in our mind.  They are strong enough to withhold love from you.  It may be argued, but I do believe we tend to try to emulate those we feel are strong, regardless of the reasons which we feel they get their strength.  So it stands to reason that in turn, we become people who withhold love.  Do you see now how breaking the cycle and doing the opposite frees you and opens you up to receive love from others?  If you can understand this and forgive the person who did not love you, then you are giving yourself the opportunity and others as well, to love you.  Once you have a continuous flow of love in your life, it will lessen the fear in your life and you will be on your way to peace in your life and there shines the light.  “This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine….”

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Forgiveness, Happiness, Love, Peace, Self-Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hear ye, hear ye….

  1. Museologie says:

    I love this post && I wish more people will read it. At 22 I am working everyday to learn from the past to make today better instead of being bitter, unforgiving frustrated upset etc. Somebody told me I have great personality so I try to keep that in mind with everything I do. You never know somebody’s story && showing love can be the least you can do. Just a little love!!

    • Kudos to you Museologie for being so aware at such a young age. I pray you only increase this with age. You are absolutely right. We treat love as a rare commodity when in fact is should be an abundant resource that we can all enjoy and pass on. Do your good in your little part of the world and it shall serve as a light for all those who choose to see.

      Peace & Light to you my sister!

  2. I wholeheartedly agree with this post! In my life, I am constantly reminding myself to show others the love and support that I didn’t necessarily receive in life. That lack of love, that lack of peace…it sticks with you. Like you said, though, you don’t have to live that same way…you can choose to let your light shine!

    • Mamaknowsital, you would not believe how many people don’t get this. The phrase “if it was good enough for me…” That’s just it, it was not good enough for them, they just accepted it much like they are about to ask someone else too. Thanks for your response. I think this is singly one of the most detrimental issues that plagues society today, especially our communities.

      Peace & Light

Leave a Reply

