Excellence is not an exception!

 

We have all heard it said before, “show me your friends and I will show you who you are.”  While I find much merit in this saying, what I really can identify with is “anytime you tolerate mediocrity in others, it increases your mediocrity.”  Again and again, I see that when I am around certain unproductive behaviors I start to slow down my drive.  Don’t let it be people who continually tell me I am “too driven” and “don’t I ever chill out or have fun.”  They have a way of subtly discouraging you from your goals.  I used to be so naive and think oh no, they just want me to enjoy life.  NOT!  If you don’t know my daily schedule, how can you know if I am working too much or being too driven.  I got a wake up call when the same people who were telling me to chill, got their calling and got about their business.  When I would say to them wow, I don’t hear from you much anymore, they proudly proclaimed that they were really busy running their new business!!!  Ain’t that something!  While I don’t believe people mean to purposely sabotage your dreams, I do believe that the old saying “misery loves company” is true.  I learned an important lesson there.  Never receive counsel from unproductive people and not everyone has a right to speak into your life.  Instead I started adopting behaviors that helped me progress more seriously with my projects.  I learned to DESIGN my path to a successful business and career and life for that matter by holding on to one major thought, “successful people have no patience for negative thinking and negative acting people.”  Now I do not tolerate anyone speaking negatively not only about me, but about themselves and anyone or anything else.  It’s ok to state the issue, but spending time complaining about it and not working on ways to either change it if possible, or change your affiliation with it, is unacceptable to me.  Energy and time is wasted complaining.  Use that time and energy thinking of plan b or c or z if need be.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that I only spend time with progressive type people, I have all kinds of friends and associates on all different levels of progressiveness.  What I do is spend time here and there with them, but I INVEST time, meaning spend significantly more time, with people who will help increase me.  So it does go back to the saying, “show me your friends and I will show you who you are.”  The true fact is the more you spend time around certain people the more you take on their characteristics.  This is just human nature.  So, examine your life, friends, and associates, are they on a progressive track?  Or maybe it is you that is on the negative track.  Can you maybe learn from them?  If you find that your friends are choosing not to be as tight with you, maybe it is because you are the sedentary one.  If they appear to be avoiding you and you find that they are doing as they say big things, then YES they are avoiding you and it is because they have learned that lesson that says, surround yourself with at least 5 individuals that have a positive lesson for you and your life.  Sorry, but you did not make the cut.  So wake up, get busy, get into action.  Take advantage of these people and do something.  Oh I know I spoke mostly of friends and associates, but please know family is definitely included in this.  Sometimes they are the main ones.  Again, I will say, I do not believe people purposely set out to sabotage.  I just think that till we are in tune with our selves and walking our journey of authenticity, we are capable of all types of behaviors.  One of my favorite quote comes from Colin Powell, “If you are going to achieve excellence in big things, you develop the habit in little matters. Excellence is not an exception, it is a prevailing attitude.”

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Excellence, Success and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Excellence is not an exception!

  1. Djrelat7 says:

    This post is right on! When I was working in the financial industry and was working hard on my own business I got a lot of that from a few close friends, who even had the nerve to tell me that it sounded like I had joined a cult and was drinking Kool Aid; I didn’t know that wanting myself to succeed and building a business was that I had joined a cult. If I want to better myself and that is what it takes….I guess bring on the juice 🙂 Great POST!

  2. Totally hear you on this one. I like how you made sure to point out that sometimes we are are also guilty of sabotaging others, not on purpose so we need to always look at what we are contributing to those in our lives. Great post!

  3. janeanedavis says:

    This was such a good article my SOSM sister! I know that I kick my game up when I am around people who are doing well. I get competitive, in a good way, and want to be successful and help those around me be successful. So now I look for awesome people to be around in the real and virtual worlds. I think I am a better person for it.

    • And that’s how it should be Janeane. We are not competing with each other if we understand that the world has an abundance for us all. We are simply inspiring each other. We have bought into the belief that there is a shortage of prosperity. Glad to see you are not in that rat race.

      Peace & Prosperity

  4. Anonymous says:

    Very Good,. I’m feeling this is so many ways.

Leave a Reply

