Seduction of SM!

 

Seduction of SM!

In one arena over 1 billion are served. Another boasts 4 million uses per day. Yet another has over 1.2 million engaged. Sounds like something you must be a part of or at least be aware of? Well, I bet you already are and in every instance you may be part and parcel of those numbers I have given. These are the numbers in each instance of Social Media users and followers.

Social Media is simply the bonafide hands down way to go for the new millennium! For everything from business to love, you can find an outlet on the internet to build, fix or create all from a social media service. Along with this new invaluable service comes a very real issue that many are falling under the seduction of. The seduction I speak of is the desire for one to act out with drama! Just like in real life where you can find drama filled folks in almost every public forum cutting up and drawing attention, you can also find them on Facebook, Twitter and the like. They will be holding court via salacious statuses, pointed criticism and pity party comments. Some even posts photos that are questionable at the very least. All to illicit comments from viewers. Good comment or bad, it doesn’t matter to them because they can easily spin the bad into a tirade of how folks are just hating and are jealous.

Unless you are a rock star about to drop your 3rd album, winning your second Academy award, or breaking every record as a star athlete, you don’t have haters. People just don’t like you! ~Catkins

Haters? really? Last year that was easily the most popular catch word. Almost everyone who had any issue with someone or felt that they were being treated unfairly, proclaimed that they were the victim of a haters. Unless you are a rock star about to drop your 3rd album, winning your second Academy award, or breaking every record as a star athlete, you don’t have haters. People just don’t like you! And why don’t people like you? The reasons could be many. People have a very short tolerance and a very keen sense for individuals who complain about something while they themselves are perpetrating that same thing. So, if you are complaining about having so many haters yet on your statuses you can be found at any given time talking maliciously about someone else, well you do the math.

You may wonder why are those people so drawn to this type of limelight if in fact they feel so many are against them and they so want to be left alone and not chastised and hated. It is actually not too difficult to understand. People with various dysfunctions more than anything else want a forum and an audience to entertain their complaints and mania. What they lack most is the ability to feel important, loved, appreciated and cared for. In a nutshell, no pun intended, they want to feel worthy. But as I have said before, sometimes in a persons quest to feel loved, they are unable to go the direct route. They find it is easier to portray bad behavior cause while they may not get the love, they are assured of getting the attention. Even though the attention is negative they rationalize it this way, if they were not all that you would not be trying to knock them down. Simply put, their ego gets the stroking it needs so whether the attention is good or bad it is all good for them. People who lack self-love and self-acceptance can very easily become egomaniacs. The ego is always there to take over the psyche and feed on all things self serving. Egomaniacs are drawn to social media like a moth to the proverbial flame! That forum can be a shangri la for those who are in desperate need to feel loved an appreciated through public approval.

As we get deeper and deeper into the culture of social media, there is no doubt that we will see many more meltdowns, class clowns and folks who are just plain out of bounds. People lacking self-love are still out there and plentiful. Next to scoring a role on a reality tv show, social media is ready and available anytime they are in need of having their very own “close up”.

Peace & Light

Follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/CarollAtkins #LoveDesignLife

About Caroll Atkins

Loving Designing Living!! All forms of design intrigue me. As a graphic designer, I design for my livelihood (C.A.SlyDesigns) but as a writer, I do it for my living! At this time in my life, I MUST write. LoveDesignLife, is my joy and my gift to you. If my articles resonate with you, I pray they will also help you in life much as living them and writing about them has helped me. Today, it is no longer about thinking outside of the box. It’s bigger!! It is all about “Transcending the sphere!” coined by yours truly. I work hard to accomplish my goals. However, if I ever fall short I don’t worry I just eat cake cause tomorrow is another day!!
This entry was posted in Happiness, Love, Self-Love, Self-Respect and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seduction of SM!

  1. Funny enough I am on social media but I don’t interact with my friends on it. Weird right, you think that I would but because I’m on there so much for work and for my own personal site, when I’m done with all of that I don’t want anything else to do with it. :/ I actually don’t look to interact with my friends on SM but in person. I still feel like if something important is going on in your life then I don’t want to hear about it on Social media with everyone else and their mom. I feel like when it comes to personal relationships with friends it takes the closeness out of the relationship. Its like saying what I share with you I share with everyone.

  2. Ronnie Libra says:

    No no – Trust. There are always haters.

  3. True. Some of my friends aren’t on social media, because they say it’s addicting, drama filled or too personal. I remind them that you control what you share!

Leave a Reply

